Oxford University Crest

The Armstrong Research Group
Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory

Third floor ICL, rooms: T7–T12, T17
Phone: T12 (Fraser’s office): +44 (0)1865 272647
e-mail: fraser.armstrong@chem.ox.ac.uk

We collaborate extensively with many scientists, both in Oxford and other institutions. Recently we have worked with:

Prof. Simon Albracht Prof. Simon Albracht
University of Amsterdam
Professor Albracht is interested in elucidating the fundamental mechanisms utilized by metalloenzymes and biomimetic systems to catalyze a variety of chemical and biochemical transformations.
Dr Christopher Blanford Dr Christopher Blanford
Inorganic Chemistry
University of Oxford
Dr Blanford is a former post-doc in the Armstrong lab and has now established his own group as an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow in the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, University of Oxford. He is also a Stipendiary Lecturer in Materials at Trinity College. He is interested in protein adsorption and protein-surface interactions and engineered electrode materials.
Prof. Richard Cammack Prof. Richard Cammack
Molecular Biophysics
King’s College London
Professor Cammack is a professor of plant biochemistry at Kings College, London, and has research interests in the applications of EPR spectroscopy, metalloproteins and metalloenzymes, the structure and function of hydrogenases, and biochemical nomenclature.
Prof. Les Dutton Prof. Les Dutton
University of Pennsylvania
Dr Dutton is the Eldridge Reeves Johnson Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania and is interested in understanding the elementary processes of oxidation/reduction and diverse biochemical reactions coupled to it, and in defining the thresholds of oxidative failure potentiating pathogenesis.
Dr Stuart Ferguson Dr Stuart Ferguson
Department of Biochemistry
University of Oxford
The Ferguson group use electrochemical techniques to study the function of bacterial redox proteins connected with the biological nitrogen cycle
Prof. Juan-Carlos Fontecilla-Camps Prof. Juan-Carlos Fontecilla-Camps
Institut de Biologie Structurale
University of Grenoble
Professor Fontecilla-Camps is interested in studying the catalytic mechanisms of metalloenzymes involved in the utilisation or production of gaseous compounds such as H2, CO and CO2 (e.g. hydrogenases, CO dehydrogenase, pyruvate:ferredoxin oxidoreductase), the insertion of metal sites in proteins and their maturation (e.g. in hydrogenases), metal transport pathways (e.g. the nickel-transporter NikA of Escherichia coli) and the regulation of metal concentrations in the cell (e.g. human iron regulatory protein 1 / cytosolic aconitase). He is also interested in the study of radical mechanisms of reactions catalyzed by enzymes with an S-adenosylmethionine cofactor, linked to a [4Fe-4S] cluster.
Prof. Bärbel Friedrich Prof. Bärbel Friedrich
General Microbiology
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Prof. Friedrich and Dr Oliver Lenz have developed expertise in the microbiology of aerobic hydrogen metabolism and have isolated hydrogenases from Ralstonia species that oxidise trace H2 in air. Collaboration with this group has led to demonstration of H2 oxidation in the presence of excess CO and O2, and a fuel cell that generates electricity from low levels of H2 in air using enzyme catalysts.
Prof. Sarah Gurr Prof. Sarah Gurr
Department of Plant Sciences
University of Oxford
Our Leverhulme-funded collaboration with the Gurr group explores the expression and mutation of laccase. Professor Gurr is interested in identifying "weak links" in a pathogen's relationship with its host and to exploit these in the rational design and/or discovery of fungicides/antifungal compounds. She is also interested in fungal biotechnology (laccases in a bio-fuel cell, disrupting the fungal cell wall, fungal fabrication of ferromagnets).
Prof. Alan Hill Prof. Alan Hill
Emeritus Professor
University of Oxford
Professor Hill is Emeritus Professor in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Oxford and has research interests in scanning probe microscopy (especially with relevance to biological systems), the design of ultramicroelectrodes, protein electrochemistry, and biosensors.
Dr Judy Hirst Dr Judy Hirst
Medical Research Council
Dunn Human Nutrition Unit
University of Cambridge
Dr Hirst is the group leader in the Mitochondrial Complex I research group at the University of Cambridge. She is interested in probing the structure and reactions of complex I using a variety of structural and biophysical techniques.
Dr Peter Nixon
Department of Biological Sciences
Imperial College London
Dr Nixon is interested in the biogenesis, function and regulation of electron transfer complexes. He is currently researching Photosystem II and the role of cytochrome b-559, proteases and chaperones involved in the repair of damaged protein complexes of the thylakoid membrane and the prevention of photoinhibition, and the potential for alternative electron transfer pathways in chloroplasts.
Dr Kylie Vincent Dr Kylie Vincent
Inorganic Chemistry
University of Oxford
Dr Vincent is a former post-doc in the Armstrong lab and has now established her own group as a Royal Society University Research Fellow developing spectroscopy of metalloenzyme active sites under potential control.
Prof. Joel Weiner Prof. Joel Weiner
Department of Biochemistry
University of Edmonton
Professor Weiner is interested in understanding the structure and function of respiratory electron transfer enzymes at atomic resolution. In particular, he is interested in obtaining or utilizing atomic-resolution structural data to generate atomic-resolution models for respiratory energy conservation; using molecular genetics to probe redox-active cofactor communication and the influence of protein structure on cofactor function; and investigating the role of substrate binding sites in biological energy conservation.

We have also worked with:

Paul Burn, University of Oxford
Steve Chapman, University of Edinburgh
John Enemark, University of Arizona
David Goodin, Scripps Research Institute, California
Russ Hille, Ohio State University
Dave Stout, Scripps Research Institute, California
Andrew Thompson, University of East Anglia